Massachusetts | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
is there any penalties or consequences after filing for an ermergency bankruptcy but not going trough it ?9could it be dismissed?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Ravosa |
If you choose to do nothing further than file an emergency petition, your case will eventually be dimissed. If you file what is referenced to as a "skeleton petition" and do not file the remaining documents pursuant to an "order to update" your case will be dismissed sooner.
After your case is dismissed, your creditors will be notified via "Notice of Dimissal" and can move forward with any actions they may have taken before you filed as you will no longer have the protection of the Bankruptcy Court otherwise know as the "automatic stay."
Please keep in mind that a dismissal may impact your ability to obtain the protection of the Bankruptcy Court in a second case beyond 30 days.
|
Top Attorneys in MA
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of David Baker
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 219
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-04
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Office of Robert R. Trant
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 181
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-03
The Law Office of John W. Harmon
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Law Office of Daniel Gindes
Salem, MA
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-20
Search Questions and Answers


