Pennsylvania | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
In Pennsylvania if you live with a woman for 11 yrs. are you considered common law married?
If so is she intitled to half of everything I own, even if she never paid rent or utilities ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Davidson |
It's possible that a common law marriage might have occurred. Since 2004 Pennsylvania doesn't recognize common law marriage. However, common law marriages that occurred prior to 2004 might be recognized. However, for a valid common law marriage to be formed you not only have to live together but you must hold yourselves out as being married to others.
Even if there is a valid common law marriage and it were to end in divorce the split is seldom 50-50. There are many factors that are involved in equitable distribution.
{John} |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Law Offices of D Patrick Zimmerman
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-23
Duffy Law, LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Leslie F. Ditlow, Esquire
Southampton, PA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-18
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Search Questions and Answers


