Arizona | DUI Law
Legal Question
Is a person charged in January 2010 with a 1st Offender DUI grandfathered into the year long ignition interlock or can it be brought to the Judge to lower that requirement to the newly passed (6) month term of the interlock?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Carrie Spiller |
The new sentencing guidelines in AZ on this issue do not currently have a retroactivity clause. Therefore, if your offense was committed in January, 2010, your sentence and MVD penalties would be assessed under the laws in effect on the date of the violation. The date of conviction does not affect this issue. The sentencing judge on the criminal part of the case really doesn't have much control over the MVD- the court just reports the DUI conviction to the MVD. The MVD is an administrative agency with its own procedures once a conviction is reported, and the MVD is the agency that controls and regulates interlock requirements based on the law on the date of violation. I don't doubt that this issue is going to be challenged, but for now, there is no retroactive application of the new laws. If you want to challenge your interlock requirements, an experienced defense attorney may be able to provide assistance. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Mark Lazell P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-02-20
Orent Law Offices, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 94
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
The Law Offices of Edward A. Loss III, P.C.
Glendale, AZ
Questions Answered: 91
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-28
Winchell Law, PLC
Gilbert, AZ
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-01
Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-27
Law Office of Carrie M Spiller, PLLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Wade Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-27
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Search Questions and Answers


