Virginia  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
12/30/11, 6:25 am

Legal Question


A person gets 2 DUI's in New York State. Last one less than 5 years ago. Gets recent one in Virginia. Have not been to court yet. Can Virginia elevate charges to third DUI or would it be considered first DUI? Also is there not a Virginia law stating that court can not elevate charges if the person's home state's punishment is a lot different from Virginia's? For third Viginia-automatic 6 months in jail...up to 5 years, and confiscation of car among other fines and such...New York State-automatic 10 day jail term, 90 day community service..No confiscation of car...and of course a one year suspension of lic where Virginia is 5 years and then you can try to get them back..of course with New York as well there are other fines but these states are very different in laws on Dui. Any help would be appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search