Pennsylvania | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
If a person listed in a will has died before it is read does it go to the estate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Davidson |
Despite what you see in the movies or TV will aren't read in some sort of meeting.
What you're describing is a lapse that is the person who was named in a will as a beneficiary dies before the person making the will. Happens a lot. Sometimes the testator will name a backup beneficiary or the will may state that the property becomes part of the residual.
So it depend on the language of the will.
{John} |
Top Attorneys in PA
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2700
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Miriam N. Jacobson
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Morrow & Artim, P.C.
North Versailles, PA
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


