Illinois | Elder Law
Legal Question
Is the person who is the power of attorney the only one who can determine the care of a parent?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Messutta |
The parent has the primary right to make his or her own determination, unless the parent is no longer "decisional" and one or another "power" kicks into play. Unfortunately, many times the power is not made known to health care facilities (nursing homes, hospitals....) and while the facility may have some duty to inquire whether there is such a document, if after they do reasonable due diligence and conclude there is not, then "next of kin" or nearest relation MAY be called upon. And it has to be the right "power of attorney". |
Top Attorneys in IL
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Sue Roberts-Kurpis
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 553
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Robert H. Glorch
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Martin Law Office
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
Law Offices of Gregory P Turza
Park Ridge, IL
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-11
Search Questions and Answers


