Michigan  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
2/02/12, 12:05 pm

Legal Question


I plan on getting married soon. My fiancee has been in Chapter 13 bankruptcy for 6 months and is on a strict budget overseen by a Judge. When we get married this year, her name will be added to all my investment and saving accounts. Can the bankruptcy court take our money or revise the budget to settle the debts? She has no savings, her house has been foreclosed on.

Also, in 2 years, she will be filing for Chapter 7 bankruptcy to stop paying off her debts. Since both our names will be on all my assets and investments, does that mean I will also be included in Chapter 7 filing? Can the court take away our assets?

I'm thinking of keeping everything separate until this whole bankruptcy procedure she wants to go through is settled.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search