Arizona | Criminal Law
Legal Question
do the police have to inform you of what you are being arrested for before taking you tro jail. if they find something in your vehicle must they tell you at the scene?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Carrie Spiller |
Legal issues will turn on several factors, including what you were stopped for, the reason for the vehicle search, and other relevant facts. If you are taken into custody (ie jail), typically you are told what you are arrested for when Miranda rights are read. That doesn't mean that the police cannot add on additional charges based on further investigation- they only have to have probable cause to arrest on one charge to take you to jail, and can continue to investigate other issues too. Whether you should have been told or not about things in your vehicle also depends on lots of factors. You should consult a criminal defense attorney to review the specific facts and potential legal issues with you. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Lamm & Associates
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 302
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-28
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Mark Lazell P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-02-20
Orent Law Offices, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 94
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Winchell Law, PLC
Gilbert, AZ
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-01
Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-27
Law Office of Carrie M Spiller, PLLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Search Questions and Answers


