California | Tax Law
Legal Question
Can I take a portion of the shareholder distribution I received from an S Corp (that I own) as a loan to reduce the net income shown on my K1 on my personal taxes?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Neal Rimer |
It does not work that way... Loans to Shareholders do not reduce net income.
Expenses within the corporation do reduce net income. Compensation to you, as an employee, would be an expense... but, then you would have to pay all the payroll taxes on that compensation and make sure you do all the withholding of taxes properly.
You, as a shareholder in an S corporation, pay the taxes on the net income of the corporation. The accumulated net income, if you do not withdraw it, accumulates. You can take that accumulated amount as a dividend without taxation on the distribution... it has been taxed already.
Once you have the K-1 and the tax year is over, you are not left with any tax planning opportunities.. you have to do tax planning before the fiscal year end. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Donald L. Field, Jr., Attorney at Law
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 837
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Burton Law Firm
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-27
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
WILLIAM A. BRANDWEIN, A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORP.
Monterey, CA
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-26
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Mark Muntean, Attorney at Law
Berkeley, CA
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-25
HONG & MASHAL, LLP
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Search Questions and Answers


