California | Business Law
2/07/12, 9:30 am
Legal Question
does a power of attorney letter need to be drawn by an attorney?
does a power of attorney letter need to be drawn by an attorney?
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
No. Indeed, there is a statutory form Power of Attorney (see Probate Code sections 4400 - 4409) that is readily copied and frequently used, both by attorneys and non-attorneys. However, it doesn't fit all situations and has various boxes to be checked and blanks to be initialed or filled in, suggesting that some knowledge of what you're doing will help prevent costly mistakes. |
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
No, but a lawyer is much more likely to do the job correctly. If you try to do it yourself, you may later discover that you made significant mistakes. Mr. Whipple is right that the statutory form is usually a good starting point. As he notes, though, in many situations it has to be adapted. A lawyer will be better able than most laypeople to do that work. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12208
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► What can I do to get a corporate company to answer our problem to get our transfer...
► I am in trucking I own and operate a big rig and sub contracted under a prime...
► Is calling a customer once a month phone salicitaion?
► If a California Corporation is in Suspended status, is it better to start fresh or...
► I bought a used car three months ago. the dealer talked me into writing 30 post...
► Husband and wife are married in CA. Husband opens a compounding pharmacy of his own....
► Is it legal for a radiology group (mri,ct, us, X-ray) to buy a referring physician a...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press