Illinois | Elder Law
Legal Question
How do I become power of attorney for my 86 year old mother?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steve Raminiak |
Ask your mother to call a lawyer about this. You should remain far away from this process, particularly if other family members would be upset about this. Ideally, you should never even speak with the lawyer who drafts your mother's Power of Attorney until she has actually signed that Power of Attorney. Most lawyers can prepare Powers of Attorney at a very small, reasonable cost.
If you believe that your mother may not have the capacity to manage her personal or financial affairs, then she cannot sign a Power of Attorney. Instead, you would have to consult with a lawyer as to how to become her Guardian.
I'd be happy to help, in either circumstance. I'll also provide either of you with a free consultation.
|
Top Attorneys in IL
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Sue Roberts-Kurpis
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 553
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 418
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Robert H. Glorch
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Martin Law Office
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
Law Offices of Gregory P Turza
Park Ridge, IL
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-11
Search Questions and Answers


