California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/08/11, 9:46 am

Legal Question


A priest friend of mine rented an apt, signing a year lease. He told the landlord he had very bad asthma and was highly allergic to dogs. Landlord agreed there would be no dogs on his floor. He has had 3 angioplasty procedures too and is approx 64. The tenant below him smokes pot all night and it comes up to his apt and exacerbates his asthma. Other tenants continue to walk their dogs on his floor, even allowing them to urinate in the halls. He has told the landlord this and they "assured him" they're in the process of evicting these people. He even got a letter from his cardiologist stating this was not a helathy environment for him to continue living. The landlord said they will let him out of the lease if he pays $4500. He is paid up till end of Nov. 2011. I thought you were entitled to a peaceful use and enjoyment of your abode, Don't tenants have rights or retribution? What can he do to get out of this lease without paying them? Can we report them to the local police regarding the drugs? Being a priest, he does not have money to hire an attorney. Thank you in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search