California | Business Law
Legal Question
I have a problem with a supplier who I paid in advance for goods which have not been delivered. The supplier's bank account has been frozen. How can I get my money back?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Frozen by whom? The bank? A court? One doesn't ordinarily begin a collection process by attacking the debtor's bank account; by the way; you'd need to go to court first.
Step one would be to determine whether the supplier has filed for bankruptcy protection. If so, keep in mind that deposits and payments in advance for goods and the like may be entitled to some degree of priority. I do not practice bankruptcy law, so I can't be too certain or specific. If the amount in question warrants, I'd suggest retaining a bankruptcy attorney who represents creditors to handle filing your claim.
If specific goods have been identified to your order, title may have passed and you may have a claim of ownership of said goods under the Commercial Code. This might be a bit unusual, but it's possible. In that case, you can file a lawsuit for "claim and delivery" or "replevin" to obtain physical possession of the goods.
In general, a lawyer would need a little more information about the supplier's problem to give you further advice. If you can send me (off line) the supplier's name (and any other identifying information you might have), I can look to see whether there is a bankruptcy on file, what chapter it's under, the name and address of the trustee, and other useful information. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
You probably won't. Sounds like a bankruptcy in his future, and yours. You can file a Claim in his Bankruptcy once you are notified of the filing. You'll share whatever assets he has left after the filing, if any, pro rata with all other unsecured creditors, all of whom are at the end of the list behind taxes, his employees, and secured creditors. Hope this loss doesn't push you into BK. Alternatively, you can and probably should file suit for breach of contract, and fraud, now, to start establishing your claim. Just don't spend a ton of money doing so, and don't expect to get a judgment or collect, unless you discover that he isn't going bankrupt.
. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


