New York  |  Family Law

question bubble
2/07/12, 10:48 am

Legal Question


I am in the process of separating from my husband of 24 years. He is an attorney who has a judgement against him for a "real estate closing " he closed for a client that sued him and he never answered the summons. This has resulted in a $450,000. lean against my husband (or shall I say my house). He does not carry legal malpractice insurance and he works for himself, makes very little money. Our house was gifted to me from my parents 16 years ago. We had his name added to the deed when we took out a home equity line of credit and a mortgage to fix up the house 8 years ago. The law suit against my husband went unanswered by my husband resulting in a judgement. He says he submitted an "appeal" to fight the judgement. How long do you have to actually file your paperwork(bound etc.) before you run out of time for an appeal?? He originally told me 90 days, which has past! Then he told me 6 months. Do we still have time to act on this, or am I out of luck when trying to buy him out on the house, going forward in a divorce???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search