India | Business Law
Legal Question
help to publish my book
i am a medical student intending to bring out a book for medical PGentrance.i have 2 publishers willing to take up the book.according to the agreement of publisher-A,i will be paid a royalty of 10%.the book may cost around 500 rs.they demand revision/edition every year at no extra cost.if i dont,they may get it done by someone else,for which i have to pay..moreover i should get the matter typed by myself and put into a CD,which costs about 4000 Rs.is this justice sir?i dont know what to do with the agreement,which is typed one and not in writing.they have not entered the name of the book as i have suggested.everywhere i find-''during the period of validity'',but the period of validity is not mentioned anywhere in the agreement.
publisher-B has agreed to accept the matter in writing itself.they haven't sent the agreement so far.i wonder if they would deduce 5000 rs from my royaly for the typing work!please help me to know my rights as an author and what i can demand,if they are exploiting my ignorance.


