Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I purchased my first home from fannie mae this past thursday. When we did the final walk through, we found a burst pipe in a first floor heater. The water was flowing through the hardwood floors into the finished basement below. The walls, ceilings, and raised flooring in most of the basement are destroyed and so is the hardwood floor in the room where the leak occured. We called the sellers real estate agent, and she said don't worry about it, they would have it all fixed asap. They had a crew in, and fixed the leak, then had a contractor in to quote the damage repairs... Now they are backpedaling... Trying to cover their own hides since they were supposed to winterize and didnt. It turns out that the reason for the pipes freezing was that they left the heat on and the oil tank ran dry. Of course, since my real estate agent was assured everything would be fixed asap, we went ahead with the closing, and then two days later the back-pedaling began, I believe because they realized that the damge was much more severe thatn they had previously imagined... What rights do I have? I can not afford to fix the damage myself, and my insurance will not cover damage that occured before closing. I have since had to pay a restoration crew to come in and clean up, and dry everything, to try to avoid further damage ($1,000.00 so far out of pocket). This is also something they originally were going to do, then came back and said I had to do it, or risk further damage to the house. The house is in Massachusetts.


