Pennsylvania | Product Liability
Legal Question
we purchased a nissan pathfinder new in 2002. It was recently having steering issues, mechanic looked at it and said the SUV would probably need to be scrapped, he said he could not believe we were not in an accident, said the steering column was literally just hanging, ready to collapse. He also suggested we check on recalls. turned out there was one, we contacted Nissan, they originally said there was not one, but after pressing them, they did agree with us and admitted our SUV was part of a recall. We had it towed to the dealer and after inspecting they informed us the SUV was not repairable and would offer us a cash settlement. Four and a half months have gone by and their offer was for bluebook value. We have been going back and forth, said we did not do anything wrong (they did tell us that other than the steering issue, their inspection showed the truck to be in excellent condition) and now we are forced to purchase another vehicle, assume a car payment, and feel we should be offered more than bluebook. My question is, is an offer of bluebook standard for something like this? Not sure if we should seek representation before we accept the offer?


