California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I purchased a refrigerator from Home Depot last 2/21/11. They have a promotion of 1 year no interest. I don't have a specific date of the delivery because it will be delivered to our new house which I don't know when I will get the key to the house. Fortunately, we were able to get a date and called them to deliver it on 3/26/11. I started paying regularly on a monthly basis but was surprised to see this February statement I was charged with the interest of $285 plus $5.00 interest penalty charge. I called the Home Depot credit card financing and was told that they started counting the month from the date it was purchased which is 2/21/11. I told them that the appliance specialist told me that the 1st payment will start when we received the unit which was 3/26/11. I received the first statement in April 2011 which marked our first payment.
The Home Depot financing wanted me to talk to the Home Depot Store and asked them to correct the purchase date. But the Home Depot Store doesn't want to correct anything and made it clear with me that the first payment start in Feb 2011. How can I pay them when in pack I still didn't get the unit nor the Home Deport billing statement?
Could you please let me know what step do I need to do? Do I need to file a grievance in regards to this situation?
Your quick response is appreciated.
Thank you.
Nenita


