Georgia  |  Product Liability

question bubble
8/29/11, 9:39 am

Legal Question


I purchased a used tire from a tire dealership. At the time of purchase the service technician had told me the tire I was purchasing did not have many miles on it, and by looking at the tire it did look almost new the tread was really good. After the tire was put on I started noticing a vibration in my car but at this point I had no idea it has something to do with the tire I had purchased. The vibration would increase each day. On my way home 2 days ago the vibration was so bad it was difficult just holding the steering wheel. While driving 85north I heard several loud noises and looked in my rear view mirrior to see piece of that tire was flying back behind my on the road, I pulled my vehicle over to inspect the tire. The tire was still fully inflated but the tread had just ripped away from the tire causing significant damage to my vehicle ripping my rear bumper off, knocked the fender flare off, and bent the fender completely under the vehicle touching the under carriage. I took the tire back to the place of purchase and ask them to look at the tire that I had purchased from them, the technician stated yes this is a problem and he took the tire and replaced it with another tire, at that point I had not informed him of the damage it had caused to my vehicle. After the technician replaced the tire owning responsibility- to his surprise I then asked him what he planned to do about he damage to my vehicle that was caused due to the defected tire.I showed him the pictures of the damage to my vehicle and he paused then looked at me and said this was not his responsibility. I told him he took responsibility for the tire already so why will he not stand behind this and take care of the damage? Never at any point when I initially purchased this tire did they tell me they would not stand behind and warranty it. But now that he was informed of the damage he is telling me he will not warranty this tire. How can I push this so that this company pays for the damage?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search