India  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/07/11, 1:35 am

Legal Question


I purchased about 1000 yards of agricultural land in my village, can i keep it?

It was not registered, it was given to some farmer by the Govt. for livelihood and not saleable. I gave money and acquired it. It is almost a private transaction without any legal sanctioning. Now i want to start a small business like mushrooming or growing of vegetables for my myself. If i erect any structures like small house will i be able to have full rights on it ? I am not aware of rules of regularization of lands and agricultural laws of my state ( I belong to Andhra Pradesh ). Some of my friends say that if I continue to hold the property for 12 consecutive years I will get a right over it, even if it is govt. land ( with proof of occupation like electricity bills, house tax receipts, phone bills etc ) I request community members to answer this clearly with reference to sources ( of laws ) I shall really be ever thankful if anybody helps me


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search