I agree with Mr. McCormick; however, to provide you with a little more information, please consider the following:
When you sign an agreement to buy real estate, there is no waiting period, or "cooling off period" as there are with certain other types of contracts. Once you sign the purchase agreement, and the Seller accepts that offer, you are now legally bound to purchase the property, or pay the Seller damages for failing to purchase the property unless you are "legally excused" from doing so. Legally Excused, in the context of buying real estate, generally means that you reserved to yourself certain contingencies in the contract. The best example of a contingency is financing. Most purchase agreements (though, Mr. McCormick is correct - you MUST review the specific contract you signed with your agent or an attorney) contain a financing contingency. The financing contingency would allow you to cancel the purchase contract without penalty if you were, through no fault of your own, unable to obtain financing to purchase the property.
Mr. McCormick is right - without reviewing the purchase agreement you signed, nobody can tell if, or how you might cancel the agreement and avoid losing your earnest money deposit. One last provision in most real estate purchase contracts you need to be aware of is a liquidated damages clause which provides that in the event you are not lawfully excused from buying the property, the Seller will keep your deposit as damages for your breach of the agreement.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code."