Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/17/12, 4:52 pm

I have a question about a mortgage & how it can be resolved in a divorce.

Long story short, wife & I have a $1800 house mortgage that has both of our names on it.

I caught her cheating (cyber affair), she did not want to reconcile & now we are heading to a divorce.

We have jointly decided that we should sell the house.

She is a nurse & has told me that she is wanting to go on travel nursing jobs (in Florida, our home state). My plan was for me to stay in the house & make improvements until it is sold (repairing, painting, etc)

She has sent me an agreement that she would pay $400 a month for a maximum of 9 months, in order for us to sell the house. Since this is what she paid while we were married for utilities...I paid the mortgage each month.

I have learned now that travel nurses get either free housing or they get a stipend for housing from the travel agency that they go with. I also understand that it is tax free if they have a permanent house in the state in which they live.

What are my legal standings with her doing this? I do not feel it is fair for her to only pay $400 of our mortgage while she gets her housing for free as a travel nurse.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search