California  |  Securities Law

question bubble
3/12/11, 11:23 am

Legal Question


My question is about proof of ownership of stock. I developed intellectual property while at a small start-up company I’m no longer with. I was an independent contractor and we had no work for hire agreement. The company has agreed to give me x number of unregistered common shares for this IP. This is all spelled out clearly in two documents, a Bill of Sale for the property and a Stock Subscription Agreement, which I’ve not yet signed and sent back. The company owner balks at issuing me a certificate and I understand there are reasons for moving away from physical certificates. I’d rather not open a brokerage account. The owner feels the Bill of Sale and Subscription Agreement are proof of ownership. Is this true?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search