Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I have a question whether a seller in Baltimore can sell a house and represent that it is "fee simple," when, in fact, it is not. I recently attempted to purchase a property in Baltimore where the owner did exactly this. He said the property was "fee simple," but it was later discovered that it was not. Now the seller will not return my $1000 deposit. What remedies are available? I maintain that the seller breached the contract by trying to sell a property that was not "fee simple," as represented. Is there any consumer protection law available whereby the consumer can obtain costs, attorney fees and damages? Thank you, any information would be greatly appreciated.


