California | Military Law
Legal Question
I was questioned by three separate people in my unit about an incident and after all questioning was complete I was read my rights. Is this the right process? Can any information they obtained before my rights were read to me, be used against me?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: William J. Holmes |
If these three people suspected that you might have committed a criminal offense, they were required to read your rights to you prior to questioning you. If that is the case, anything you said should not be able to be used against you in a court-martial. This is a general statement of the law, but there are many exceptions to this. Thus, each case is fact-specific and has to be litigated separately.
This general rule only applies to a criminal trial at a court-martial. It would not apply to any administrative actions which your command may try to take such as seeking a separation, awarding nonjudicial punishment, revoking security clearance, relief from duties, etc.
I hope this answers your questions. If you need additional information, please feel free to contact me directly at WJHLAW@cox.net or (757) 420-9321. |
Top Attorneys in CA
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices OF David M. Wallin
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Military Law & Justice
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-20
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Steven Brand, Attorney at Law
Cedar Park (austin), TX
Questions Answered: 76
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-25
Singhal & Associates
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-07-19
Philip Simmons
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-10
Michael K. Jones, Attorney at Law
Burbank, CA
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-03-27
Cerveno Law Office
Fairfield, CA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-23
Search Questions and Answers


