California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Hello. I have a few questions regarding my rights as an employee. I was put on suspension on Friday because of relating certain issues in a way they found innappropriate...a ding to the egos running the system. In other words, I basically communicated in the same exact way they speak to my clients...rude and harsh. I am one of the nicest people around, so this was a difficult choice for me to make.
My supervisor said I was suspended. I asked her if this meant fired and she said no. I am to report back on Monday morning, however I just want to make sure I am covered in case she changes her mind. I have learned not to trust, unfortunately.
I do my job honestly and efficiently, I am respectful toward my clients and co-workers. The communication issue was with the third parties that we are required to work with; these individuals make it difficult to conduct our job efficiently due to their inflated egos.
Can I please some information on my rights? I am looking for someone who is willing to represent me fully because I know I did nothing wrong. Also, medical records, under HIPAA are confidential so employers cannot use this as a reason to fire, correct?
Please help me because it is really difficult to find someone who can see my side, even though I am willing to risk my well-being to help others who do not have a voice.
Thank you,
Diana M. Carrillo


