Arizona | Employment Law
Legal Question
I had to quit my job because my boss (also the owner) was harassing me sexually, can I file a claim against him?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Blake Simms |
Thank you for the message. Whether you can sue the company for sexual harassment is going to depend, in large part, on the number of employees it employs. If there are 15 or more employees, Title VII would apply and you could sue under that federal statute.
If there are fewer than 15 employees, you could still pursue a claim under the Arizona Civil Rights Act. That law, however, does not allow for compensatory or punitive damages. As such, it is not a very effective way of enforcing an employee's rights. |
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Patterson Johnson-Stovall & Crenshaw PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
W. Blake Simms, P.C.
Tempe, AZ
Questions Answered: 129
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
The Gonzalez Law Office
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-31
Search Questions and Answers


