Texas  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/20/12, 3:23 pm

I received a check from my deceased grandfathers nursing home for 2500.00 dollars. When he was alive he had given me the money to pay his bills for him because he had dimentia. Now that he is gone the nursing home sent me check refunding his deposit. The check is made out to me because I was the one assigned to take care of his financial responsibilities to the nursing home. His estate is still being settled and his stepson is the executor of the estate and he has been hunting down all my grandfathers money. My question is, "can I cash the check, or do I have to hand it over to the estate?"

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search