Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
6/29/11, 7:03 am

Legal Question


I received a claim of lien on my home in the mail a few days ago. It states that we owe in total $962.62 ($290.00 in delinquent assessments, $52.50 in interest, $25.00 in late fees, $65.00 for the next months fees, $30.42 in court/postage, and $500.00 in attorney fees). I have few questions: I know the lien is a legal document, but what is it's purpose? Also, if I pay the total amount will it go away or do I need to do something else? And finally, do I have to pay all the fees that are listed - for example attorney fees - or is there a way/law that states I can just pay my delinquent charges and still be in the clear?

Thanks for any help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search