California  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
1/22/12, 5:18 pm

Legal Question


I received a Promissory Note from a NY attorney (April 2008) on behalf of a couple who wanted a loan. The terms of the agreement were drafted and supplied by the NY attorney. The terms required repayment in 12 month. The contract was executed in May 2008 and I have yet to receive any money. I am now being told that the document is not enforceable as the terms for late payment are unreasonably great, and not warranted by law. I live in CA but the people who I loaned the money to live in NY. What can I do to get my money back and to hold the NY attorney accountable for the deceptive agreement.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search