California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
9/07/11, 10:39 pm

Legal Question


I received the summons around 03-11-11 for the san Bernardino court case no.

CIVDS 1103251, a few days later they sent me a for saying that they wanted to negotiate a settlement on the due amount.

I called them and talked to Eli Barreto, who handles my case.

At first he said that it could be settled for 50% of the total due. And that was about 5400.00, I told him that with my income tax return and borrowing money I could come up with the money. Which I did once I received my tax return.

But next time I talked to him he stated that they wanted 7800.00, at which point I told him that I did not have the money or access to it.

He offered me a down payment of what I had on hand, around 5000, and the rest in payments for 3 or 6 months and that was about 400 to 500 per month.

He sent me an offer stating such. But if I failed to make a payment then I would owe the total amount again.

I called him and told him that I did not wanted to run the risk of missing payments. And offered 6000.00, He said his client would only take the 7800.00 and that was that.

I have not talked to him sense, that was around may. But he calls and leaves a message on my phone at least once or twice a month.

I do not call him back, because I no longer have a lump sum to offer. I used the money to pay other late bills.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search