California  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/24/11, 9:32 pm

Legal Question


I was recently arrested for making a "criminal threat" against a person. My bail amount was set at $50,000. I paid $5,000 to have a bail bonds company post a $50,000 bond. I was released on this $50,000 bond. After my release, the DA decided to not file charges. Despite the DA not pursuing criminal charges, I was never refunded the $5,000 that I paid to bail out of jail.

Two weeks later, the DA obtained a warrant for my arrest for animal cruelty, vandalism, and for the same criminal threat that they had previously not filed charges on. This time when I was arrested, my bail amount was set at $35,000. I paid $3,500 to a bail bonds company to post a $35,000 bond. I was released on this $35,000 bond. After my release, the DA decided to pursue criminal charges against me.

Even though my bond was set at only $35,000 for my case, I have paid a total of $85,000 in two separate bonds ($50,000 bond the 1st time + $35,000 bond the 2nd time). Therefore, am I entitled to a refund of the original $5,000 bail money for the original $50,000 bond since the DA never pursued charges on that case? Why should I have to pay bail twice for a total bond of $85,000 when my bond was only set at $35,000? I should be entitled to a refund of the original $5,000 bail money on the original $50,000 bond since no charges were ever filed in that case. Am I entitled to a refund of this? Or is it legal for the DA to charge me $85,000 in bail when my bail was set at only $35,000?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search