New York | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I just recently found out I'm being sued for computer work I did in Florida 10 years ago. I was working through my corporation. I had left because I was being harrassed. Can they sue me and not the corporation?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Marshall Isaacs |
You may want to obtain more information and then re-submit your question. I doubt anyone is suing you after 10 years. The Statute of Limitations would have expired a long time ago. Is it possible that you are remembering incorrectly and that you actually performed the work more recently, say five or six years ago?
Yes, you can be sued personally. The suit against you might be improper and dismissable but there's nothing stopping the Plaintiff from naming you in the complaint. The Court Clerk's office does not review or pass judgment on the complaints that are filed.
Also, if the lawsuit alleges fraud, Plaintiff may have properly named you in the complaint. Under the right circumstances, fraud is a basis for permitting a plaintiff to "Pierce the Corporate Veil." |
Top Attorneys in NY
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7767
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Michael A. Markowitz, PC
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1827
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
David A. Browde, P.C.
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1592
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
PHROSKA LEAKE McALISTER
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1214
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-21
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Search Questions and Answers


