You are treading in dangerous waters. Although you have a right to compete fairly with your former employer, you have to make sure that you not using your former employer's trade secrets and relationships.
Some things, such as customer lists, are considered trade secrets belonging to the former employer. Also, the relationship that you developed while working for your former employer is what we call "good will". That good will belongs to your former employer.
If you are soliciting the customers with whom you formerly had relationships your former employer may have a valid basis for filing suit.
The thing you should do is have a "sit down" consultation with a local attorney to discuss your options, and how you can take steps to try to avoid a lawsuit.
Let me know if you would like to set up an appointment.
Caleb
J. Caleb Donner
DONNER & DONNER
LEGAL WARRRIORSŪ
910 Hampshire Road, Suite R
Westlake Village, CA 91361
Tel: 805-494-6557
Fax: 805-494-0990
email: donner@lawyer.com
website: www.legalwarriors.com
DISCLAIMER
This reply constitutes legal information for education purposes and does NOT constitute legal advice nor establish an attorney-client relationship. We will only represent you based on a written retainer agreement. Therefore, you should contact this office to discuss representation if you do want legal advice/representation.