Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
I recently responded to a Craig's List post asking for a mystery shopper. I received an informal email response from the owner of the posting indicating that I was selected for the opportunity, and that a check and info packet would be sent to me.
I received the aforementioned check with instructions to use Western Union to wire it across the country, but no packet - and I have neither the name of the individual nor the name of the business being represented.
It has been days since I was supposed to have received this information packet, and the individual has been sending me emails in all capital letters demanding to know where the money is - even though I explained how my bank put a 48-hour hold on the funds due to the size of the check.
This whole situation now reeks of a money-laundering scam to me (I got caught in one very similar to this before), and I'm curious to know what legal retribution I might face if I simply cut off correspondence with the Craig's List poster and keep the money sent to me.


