North Carolina  |  Credit and Debt Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/27/12, 3:08 pm

I was recently sued by a credit union in NY for a past due balance of $4,000. (I now live in NC, however, the lawyer representing the credit union is based out of NC). I do not have the money to pay the bill and at this time I can't offer installment payments. Since I did not respond to the initial summons, I am now facing a default judgement. I received a notice for a hearing for a "Motion for Summary Judgement." I understand this motion prevents a trial, which I am fine with. Do I need to attend this hearing considering I have no lawyer and/or defense? Also, what is going to happen next? I appreciate any information you can offer...thank you!

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search