California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I rented a room from an owner-occupied condo. The last month I was there the owner rented another room in anticipation of my departure. How long does the owner have to refund my security deposit? Please address the owner occupied part, as this will show me that it was factored in to the answer.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
I'm not clear as to what you want to know about the "owner-occupied part." The rules are the same for residential tenancies - room rental or full unit rental. The owner has 21 days from the date of your surrender of possession to provide you with an accounting for the use of your security deposit, and/or the remaining balance of your security deposit. You need to leave your landlord a forwarding address, otherwise his only duty is to return it via mail back to the home in which you no longer live.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. Further, information you provide to the Firm through this website is not confidential - it is available publicly to anyone visiting this website. The Firm shall have no obligation to keep the information you provide herein confidential in any context. The information provided herein by the Firm is general, and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


