Texas  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/06/12, 5:21 pm

We rented a vacation home in California for 7 days, paid security deposit and fees in advance. Found out Tuesday that my wife does not need to travel outside of limited area in Texas per doctors orders, so contacted the person we leased from to cancel the lease. The cancellation policy reads:

"Cancellation Policy: If Guest wishes to cancel his/her reservation, payment will be refunded as follows on case by case bases:

100% if cancelled 30 days prior to the Check-in Date

0% if cancelled 29 or less days prior to the Check-in Date"

We are still more than 30 days away, and the person responded:

"it is near impossible to rent out our home with such short notice which is why we have the cancellation policy written the way it is. Please reread your signed copy. I'll see if we can rent it out and work out some sort of refund. It will require lots of time and effort on our side so I hope you understand. Sorry for the late replay but I am out of town until Monday with no cell or computer access."

I need to know what actions if any I can take to get our money back.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

183 Answers given in the last few hours.

7524 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search