Florida | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
My renter's lease is up in 11 days. He just informed me that he is leaving then. Does he forfeit his security deposit because he didn't give me a 30-day notice?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: William Gwaltney |
The lease document should address the notice to vacate or non-renew issue. Typically a Security Deposit is not for an issue related to notice of non-renewal. A security deposit is to protect against damages to the property. However, your lease could allow for a forfeiture of the deposit if there is not proper notice. Even if the lease doesn't provide for it, you may still have some recourse against the tenant, again, if your lease specifies it. If your lease does not require a 30 day Notice then you may have a hard time getting any recourse.
If you intend to hold any portion of the security deposit there are timelines established by Statute which must be followed. If you are not familiar with these timelines you should consult a landlord tenant attorney for more information. You may also want to consider having an attorney review/edit and/or draft a new lease. A one time flat fee for this may avoid future issues. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2841
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Search Questions and Answers


