Illinois  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/04/12, 8:35 pm

I was renting a house (in Illinois) for 4 years and every year I sign a new contract had to move out early and now they say I owe for 2 months rent because I left early. The very first lease did indicated that there was an early cancellation fee, but the last three years leases did not have this but they said they could go back to the very first lease I signed and take me to court for the balance due. Isn't the current years lease the legal binding contract? And I also thought once the first year was over no matter what I sign renting becomes a month to month legal contract?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search