Rhode Island | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
What is required by law to obtain back rent owed on a commercial property from tenant to landlord?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Staff General Counsel |
The law requires that a commercial landlord follow legal procedures and not engage in self-help - that is, a commercial landlord may not simply change the locks on a tenant. Beyond that prohibition against self-help eviction, the first step would be to review any written lease, as a commercial lease may specify certain notice rights and procedural steps that are required.
Bottom line: find a lawyer you trust and let he or she help you do it right.
Best, Scott Summer, Staff General Counsel LawyersCollaborative
Legal disclaimer: The response given is not intended to create, nor does it create an ongoing duty to respond to questions. The response does not form an attorney-client relationship, nor is it intended to be anything other than the educated opinion of the author. It should not be relied upon as legal advice. The response given is based upon the limited facts provided by the person asking the question. To the extent additional or different facts exist, the response might possibly change. Attorney is licensed to practice law only in the State of Rhode Island and responses are based solely on RI law unless stated otherwise.
|
Top Attorneys in RI
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
LawyersCollaborative
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 161
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-26
Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc.
East Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 116
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-06
D'Alessandro & Wright
Providence, RI
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Curran Desharnais, P.C.
Weymouth, MA
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-20
Attorney Nancy E. Wildes
Pawcatuck, CT
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-04
James L. O'Neill
Providence, RI
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Michael P. Healy & Associates
Holliston, MA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


