Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
I reside in Pennsylvania. In the last two weeks, I have had two separate "collections" agencies call me saying that I owe money on a Payday Loan. One name was PayDay1, the other was ThinkCash. After doing some research and calling the Dept. of Banking, I have found that in Pa, payday loans are illegal. These companies called me threatening to send court documents, said they are going to take me to local court. They've been calling my ex husband, friends, and parents. I applied for a loan a few years ago online, and all the information I had to fill out, they had, including my bank account number (which has been closed since 2009). With that being said, I don't recall ever taking out these loans. If a debt recovery company "bought" the so called debt from these payday loan companies, can this debt recovery company take me to court? The one recovery company is called Liberty and based in Colorado. These calls have me so shaken up that I was even ignorant enough to give them my prepaid credit card number (which I have subsequently cancelled). These calls are ruining my life. The company that called me today, Liberty, made an "arrangement" with me for biweekly 50$ payments for this alleged debt. I wanted to do whatever I could to stop the calls which was to say yes to the payments.


