California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
1/03/12, 10:25 am

Legal Question


I have been residing in San Francisco for over five years now. I recently had a disagreement with a landlord that I was renting from for five months which caused a complete falling out. He also works for a private security company who provides its services to more then a handful of club/concert venues and restaurants through-out San Francisco. I have tried to avoid him thinking that things would be fine, however four months ago I tried attending an event and once I had reached the front of the line he stepped out to yell and deny me service. Again I recently went to an event at a lounge/restaurant for New Years Eve with two friends to have security there tell me I was not allowed. I asked them why and the guard stated “I was not allowed at any establishment they work security for” and when I asked why he said “I must have pissed off the wrong person”. I have never done anything illegal or been denied/removed from a venue until after the personal grudge. I have tried contacting the owner of the security company and have not received any response back. They are all personal friends and doubt any response will come. I have also filed a complaint with the BBB, but I am not sure if there is anything they can even assist with. I am not sure of any rights I have and I do understand a business can refuse service to anyone, but can it be for any reason? I plan to live here my entire life and just see if I have any rights since I don’t want this to effect other times I want spend with friends or family.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search