Virginia | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
I retained a lawyer for a misdemeanor charge. He requested a retainer of $3000. First meeting lasted about an hour where upon he sent a letter to the court claiming he was retained by me and asked for a continuance (new date) due to a scheduling conflict. On the new date he appeared and had a discussion with the County attorney. The case was continued again and I was assigned community service. Next court date, my lawyer did not even show up. The county attorney dismissed charges. Am I entitled to to a refund of any of the retainer money? At most, the attorney spent 3 hours on this.


