Texas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
If I retract a statement to police regarding a charge that's already been taken care of, will the charge be taken off the person's record? And could I be prosecuted? It's for my husband. He violated probation and is clean and I want to keep him out of jail. It was a domestic violence issue. He slapped me when he was drunk but has sought treatment and we've been separate as he's been getting clean. But he was on probatioan for a dwi and is facing jail for the violation. I just don't want to get into trouble. He consulted with an attorney and they told him a retraction letter from me would help him and that I would not get in trouble but I would like some reassurance he's not misinformed.


