New York  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/11/12, 7:16 pm

I just returned to work after 12 weeks of maternity leave. On my first day back, the administrator let me know that there is not enough work for me and they need to cut my hours from 30 to 25 a week. They will prorate my vacation time and sick days to 5 hour a day as well.

No one else in my department was cut, I have been working at this place for 12 years and there are people with my same title who have been working less time, and none of them were demoted. I feel that I have been singled out. Is this legal? I live in New York.

Thank you

1 Answer


Answered on: 4/12/12, 6:08 am by Locksley Wade

A violation of the Pregnancy Act? You should discuss this with your HR department and an attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Locksley O. Wade 11 Broadway, Suite 615 New York, NY 10004

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

183 Answers given in the last few hours.

7524 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search