Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
I need to know what rights do a grandmother have when the mother will not allowed you to see your grandson even though you had him for the last 10mths.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
A grandparent can file a petition in the Circuit Court of the county where the child lives requesting a court order permitting visitation. However, if the parents oppose this and are fit to have custody, there is a presumption that the parents are doing that in the best interests of the child. The court has the authority to find that notwithstanding the parents' objection, it is still in the best interests of the child to allow grandparent visitation. In your case, since you were the child's custodian until recently, I think there is an excellent chance of your prevailing unless there is some evidence that while you were taking care of your grandson he wasn't doing well.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3884
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Search Questions and Answers


