India | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
*A road front shop and one room (for residence) were given on rent of rs 35/ month by my grandfather long time back., (dont remember the year??).
*Original Tenant who was runnng the grocery shop and using other room, for residence , staying there with his famiy died,,
* then the rent receipt was changed by my late grandfather in favour of name of tenant's SON.
* later tenants son was using it as shop / godown.and the other room as his residence.
*then he has stopped using it as a shop/godown ,, and instead has let his widowed sister stay there..
* she is now using it as residence..
* the rent receipts are in name of her elder brother.
* Elder Brother now has his own accomodation and moved out,, instead his younger brother is staying in the residencial room.
can we file case of eviction on follwing points.. also suggest any thing more if i have missed??
Q1. "Change in use" is it legal that Commercial property can be used a residence.
Q2. can brother(on whose name receipts are issued) can give the possession to his sister to use as residence?
Q3. can the younger brother & sister be labled as sub-tenant?? as receipts are in elder brother's name.
Q4. Light meter is still in name of his original tenant their late father.
we dont have any documents of lease deed or anything as such..


