Arizona | Business Law
Legal Question
Isn't the sale of an LLC a matter of public record and the sale price?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Kevin B. Murphy |
As a Franchise Attorney I can say this. The sale of any closely-held business, like an LLC or S-Corp, is not a matter of public record. The sales price is between the parties and is only reported to the IRS. Consult with a good business or franchise attorney in your area for specific advice.
Mr. Franchise - Kevin B. Murphy, B.S., M.B.A., J.D. Franchise Foundations, a Professional Corporation
|
|
Read More Answered By: Donald W. Hudspeth |
I agree with Mr. Murphy that the sales documents of a private company are not public records. If there is a lender involved - which could be the seller for some part of the price - there could be a recorded UCC-1 Financing Statement (which tells the world that that creditor has an interest in those assets - warning to subsequent buyers or lenders) and if there is real property involved then there could be a recorded deed of trust or mortgage on the land or building. So, let's say there could be public notice of a transaction but not the contract or its terms itself.
Hope this helps.
(By the way, 9 out of 10 times you would not sell the LLC anyway. That would typically be the wrong way to do the transaction.)
So, use a lawyer so you know what you are doing. Cost/benefit analysis is a "no brainer."
Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C. 3030 North Central Avenue, Suite 604 Phoenix, Arizona 85012 Direct DWH@azbuslaw.com AzBusConsulting@aol.com Firm TheFirm@azbuslaw.com Ph 602.265.7997 Fax 602.265.6099 Web site www.azbuslaw.com follow us on Twitter at DonaldWHudspeth
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
Donald T. Scher & Associates, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 1357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
PALOMINO LAW FIRM, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 411
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-14
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
zimmermann nielsen & colleagues
Mesa, AZ
Questions Answered: 148
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-28
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Law Office of Scott W. Hyder, PLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


