California | Business Law
Legal Question
On Saturday, I signed a bill of sale to sell a machine of mine. On Sunday, I called they buyer to let him know that I needed to cancel. No money was exchanged. Am I still obligated to sale the machine?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
The provisions of the Commercial Code will apply. Whether the buyer's remedy for your breach of the sale agreement will be for money damages, specific performance of the contract, or for replevin (physical delivery of possession of property sold and owned by him) will depend upon factors going beyond the information given. Such factors include the wording of the bill of sale, whether the buyer tenders the purchase price, and the purpose for which the machine was bought. See Commercial Code sections 2401, 2502, and particularly 2711-2716 re buyer's rights upon seller's breach, non-delivery or repudiation. of course, not all failed deals result in one party or the other demanding their full measure of relief in court. Maybe the buyer will agree to cancel the deal, or accept some smaller token of compensation without going to court. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


